top of page

Barcelona Day 2

Today we decided to spend some time on the beach and it was one of our best decisions. The beach was beautiful and I think it might have been the only time of the entire trip that I have just sat down without planning our next move. We were VERY surprised to find out it was a topless beach but only a few women actually participated in that so it was okay!

Later that day Caroline and I had tickets to Sagrada Familia. We had pretty low expectations and only bought tickets because we knew it was one of the things you are supposed to do in Barcelona. But I was absolutely blown away by this place. The outside was beautiful but the inside was INSANE!!!!!!!! Sagrada was hands down the most beautiful building I have ever been in. If I had to describe it to someone I would say it is like mixture of a rainbow, a forest, and a building. Although the building isn't finished being built yet, they are hoping to finish it in 2026- exactly 100 years from Gaudi's (the original architect) death.

Caroline and I went back to the beach for dinner and I had the most delicious burger! Later that night, we had tickets to a Flamenco show in the city. Somehow we ended up being seated front row for the show and it was SO fun! The dancers and singers were all so talented and it was really cool to get a taste for some of the true Spanish culture!

The next morning it was time to head back to The Netherlands:( But first we tried to squeeze in one more monument- Park Guell! Getting to the park was an ordeal in itself but once we got there it was pretty cool! Park Guell was also created by Gaudi.

Overall, Barcelona was AMAZING! Caroline and I had so much fun traveling together and figuring everything out. I think that if the two of us can figure out the metro and the bus and the trains and the planes, then we can figure out anything!

Love,

MTW


bottom of page