top of page

Maastricht Life

Okay okay okay... Enough will all those other cities and countries, let's talk about Maastricht!

Y'all it is beautiful. I have been to 5 countries in the past few weeks but my favorite place I have been is still Maastricht. I never would have guessed that a little Netherlandish town could feel like home so fast! Maastricht is woven together with cobblestone roads and speckled with coffee shops on every corner. Excuse me, I meant cafés... you don't want to confuse that with a coffee shop (very different, look it up if you don't know what I mean).

It's is sorta funny because I have spent more time out of Maastricht than in Maastricht, even though I am "living" here. It rains sometimes, but other times it is SO hot (at least in Texas we have AC). I love exploring the town and finding new places to grab a cup of coffee or do a little shopping:)

I also find it incredible how much history is in this place! The town is surrounded by city walls that have been there since Medieval times, did I mention that my running path goes right by them? It is so cool to be around so much history- it is almost hard to believe that everything is as old as it is!

Class is going well and I LOVE my professor and her family! They are so sweet and really care about all of us as students. Right outside their apartment is a seesaw. This is where we sat and talked about our essays and our travel plans and a little bit of everything. Everything here is so laid back and casual, even office hours on a seesaw!

More updates to come!

Love,

MTW


bottom of page